Do I Look Fat?

Q: How much weight gain should I expect?

A: It depends.

Gaining weight is part of pregnancy and not all women are the same.  Depending on how much you previously weighed, in comparison with your height, will equal the amount you need to gain.  The relationship between your weight and height is called your “body mass index” or BMI. Calculate your BMI here.

For instance, average women need to gain between 25 to 35 pounds (a BMI of 18.5 to 24.9) while underweight women should gain 28 to 40 pounds (a BMI below 18.5) .   Overweight women, on the other hand, only need to gain 15 to 25 pounds (a BMI of 25 to 29.9) during pregnancy.  Obese women also need to gain little weight-11 to 20 pounds (a BMI of 30 or higher).  This can be accomplished by increasing your calorie intake by 100 to 300 more calories per day.  Also you should talk to your doctor about how much weight you should be gaining during pregnancy.

One question I personally had is where does all the weight go?  WebMD tells us that the weight is distributed into these specific areas:

Baby: 8 pounds

Placenta: 2-3 pounds

Amniotic fluid: 2-3 pounds

Breast tissue: 2-3 pounds

Blood supply: 4 pounds

Fat stores for delivery/breastfeeding: 5-9 pounds

Uterus increase: 2-5 pounds

Total: 25-35 pounds

Moral of the story: every pound you gain is needed, so enjoy eating a few more calories!

2 Comments

Filed under Things to do, Weight Gain

2 responses to “Do I Look Fat?

  1. I love your blog! I think it’s awesome to have all of this easy to absorb information for pregnant women. I really liked this post, because I’ve always wondered if I really need to gain a ton of weight when I get pregnant, so now I can prepare and make sure I don’t gain too much or too little.

  2. Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your post is just cool and i can assume
    you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission
    allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a comment